Baoyuan Jiaozi Wu (宝源饺子屋)

I often find myself really looking forward to the next culinary adventure I will have in Beijing. 

 When I look for a new restaurant these key words often pop in my search bar “best (fill in the name of food) in Beijing” “most a Beijing restaurant you can’t miss out on”. This past weekend I typed in “best dumplings in Beijing.”I’ve eaten my fair share of dumplings but I wanted to seek out the best of the best. However I decided on this place merely because I saw pictures of orange and purple dumplings. Who doesn’t want their dumplings to look like the spectrum of the rainbow?

 Located near the Sheraton hotel in Beijing, this restaurant is very charming with traditional red lanterns hanging outside and Chinese lacquer tables throughout the interior. While the restaurant looks rather small, there are several small stone steps that lead to other private dining rooms. This restaurant would be a wonderful place to rent out for a private party!

 While some restaurants you go to in Beijing will serve both fried and steamed dumplings, this restaurant specializes in steamed dumplings. As you will see on the menu, there are many combinations of dumplings. I settled on the colorful dumplings because let’s be real, I came for the rainbow dumplings.

The all-natural dyes are made from carrots, tomatoes, purple cabbage and spinach so I was delighted to hear that it wasn’t artificial flavoring!

 There were six dumplings to an order and we ended up with 24 dumplings between three people! It was definitely enough for us!

 What is your favorite dumpling place in Beijing?

 Baoyuan Jiaozi Wu (宝源饺子屋)

 Open: 11am-10pm

Telephone: 6586 4967

English address: 6 Maizidian Jie, Chaoyang district

Chinese address: 朝阳区麦子店街6号楼北侧

 

Leave a Reply

